Org Chart with a page per department??

Started by hrbowles, November 06, 2014, 04:21:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hrbowles

Hello

I'm a newbie to Visio. i've been trialling Org plus software but no joy. Basically, I want to creat an org chart that has a page per location, per department.

Is there a way to do this in Visio without doing it all manually? It will do me a page per Line Manager, but not by Location/Department.

Would be great to know if I'm being dense, or it just isn't possible.

Thanks

Gem.

wapperdude

I don't think there's an easy way to do separate Orgs per page.  Perhaps there's a new feature in either V2010 or V2013, but I don't have access to either.  But, it's been a long time since I've played with the Org charting...  I suspect it would take some code to do, however.

Wapperdude

Ed.:  Did a quick google re visio org chart separate pages.  Came across this, plus other possibilities:  http://smallbusiness.chron.com/import-organization-chart-visio-29499.html  Looks like the wizard should allow you to do multiple pages.  Haven't tried it though.
Visio 2019 Pro

hrbowles

Thanks.

It does offer you an option to specify separate pages, but only by who is at the top of the page. ie no visible functionality to specify a page per location/department.

All the software I've trialled has the same problem - it only filters who line manager, and doesn't offer a second filter of department or location. There's a gap in the market!

I did read about maybe using VBA to make it happen? Again, had a minor play with VBA on excel, but not sure if it's usable in Visio?

Gem.

wapperdude

Have you tried manually creating a simple, mock org chart constructed as you desire, in Visio.  Say just 2 pages and maybe 2 or 3 appropriate shapes per page.  Then, running the Wizard...maybe to export to Excel.  See what the Excel results look like, then utilize/embellish those results, and import back into Visio using the Wizard?  Might work.  If not...