Author Topic: Visio 2007 Pro installation  (Read 14776 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Paul Herber

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3286
    • Paul Herber's website
Visio 2007 Pro installation
« on: August 29, 2008, 07:57:10 AM »
Hi, I've downloaded Visio 2007 Pro from MSDN and written the .iso file to a CDROM.

I have 3 machines here, a mix of XP Home and Pro, all UK English language and all at SP2.

First I'll relate what does work with what.
On the two machines on which I do NOT wish to install Visio 2007 Pro, inserting the disc in the CDROM drive starts the installation just fine and shows the first screen. That's as far as I proceed with them though as I have other versions of Visio on them.

However, the machine on which I DO want to install this software, this is the newest of the 3 with 1GB of physical memory. 9 times out of 10 it displays a DOS box saying "Program too big to fit in memory". The box is only shown momentarily (P.S. I'm not using the US meaning of momentarily here). However, occasionally the installation startup splash screen is shown but there is also a warning box saying:
Setup is unable to proceed due to the following error(s):
The 2007 Microsoft Office system does not support upgrading from a prerelease version of the 2007 Microsoft Office system ...

Now, yes, I did have the Visio 2007 beta installed on here, but that got removed a long time ago.

Does anyone know what I need to do to resolve this?

I would have asked on the MSDN managed groups but they seem to have forgotten about Visio. Even the list of public newsgroups doesn't include the Visio groups!

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils and applications for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

Visio Guy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1734
  • Smart Graphics for Visual People...n' Stuff
    • Visio Guy
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 09:21:47 AM »
Hi Paul,

I wonder if the Office 2007 beta wasn't properly uninstalled. I remember something about an arduous process to "clean" your machine of the beta. I found this link:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928218
For articles, tips and free content, see the Visio Guy Website at http://www.visguy.com
Get my Visio Book! Using Microsoft Visio 2010

Paul Herber

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3286
    • Paul Herber's website
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2008, 09:41:48 AM »
Thanks Chris, I'll give that a go.

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils and applications for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

Paul Herber

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3286
    • Paul Herber's website
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2008, 12:43:29 PM »
Weird, thanks for that link, Chris. There was a mass of Office 2007 stuff in the registry, a pile of old Visual Studio junk as well. Who would have guessed that Visual Studio was anything but a graphic image editor!
Anyway, rebooted and tried to install, continued to get the "Program too big to fit in memory" error, after about 30 attempts to get this running but closing the firewall, anti-virus, everything to get more memory, I'd given up for a while, had all the usual programs loaded, email, web browser with 4 open tabs, 2 newsreaders, Messenger, Apache web server ... inserted the CD - bingo!

Does too much free memory make the memory check go wrong?

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils and applications for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

wapperdude

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4398
  • Ideas Visio-lized into solutions
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2008, 01:54:59 PM »
Who can remember?   :D

Sorry Paul, couldn't resist!
Visio 2019 Pro

Paul Herber

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3286
    • Paul Herber's website
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2008, 02:41:44 PM »
I'm not that flash!

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils and applications for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

wapperdude

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4398
  • Ideas Visio-lized into solutions
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2008, 02:53:32 PM »
 ???  There are different meanings to "momentary".  ???   :'(
Visio 2019 Pro

Paul Herber

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3286
    • Paul Herber's website
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2008, 03:15:41 PM »
Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils and applications for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

wapperdude

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4398
  • Ideas Visio-lized into solutions
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2008, 03:24:36 PM »
...I'll get back to you on that!   ;D
Visio 2019 Pro

aledlund

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
Re: Visio 2007 Pro installation
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2008, 06:09:57 AM »
AFAIR (I haven't had xp in the house for years) there used to be an issue with XP where you could get an out of memory message and it wasn't talking about RAM. It was talking about the swap file (which it used to consider as part of memory). You might check that out as well.
al