How to keep a shape from getting garbled when resizing

Started by Mosey, May 27, 2009, 01:59:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mosey

I'm a newbie at Visio. I created a new shape that is basically a rectangle with text inside. I turned on the following Protections: Aspect Ratio, Text, Format, From group formatting. Please see attachment "shape 1.jpg". But, when I place this shape in a drawing and then try to resize it, the text inside gets all garbled. Please see attachment "shape 2.jpg". It doesn't resize with the rest of the shape. How do I fix this?

Paul Herber

First, undo all those protections that you've set.
Select the whole shape and
menu Format -> Text
and set a suitable text size or use the font size on the toolbar.

There is, of course, the possibility that the parts of the shape (it's a grouped shape) have protected the text size od the individual parts.

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

wapperdude

Beyond what Paul says, requires editting the shapesheet to add a formula to make the character size respond to the shape size.  This is not a normal feature.  It is not difficult to do, although your grouped shapes add a small complication.

So, if interested, here's the basic steps...
1.)  Go to the menu bar > Window > Tile.  Then menu bar > Window > Show shapesheet.  (You should see both the drawing and shapesheet windows.)
2.)  Create a width based calculation constant (this step is optional, mainly for convenience)
       a.)  In the Shape Transform section note and record the value for the Width cell.  This value will be used later.
       b.)  Now, right click in the shapesheet window, select insert section, select user defined cells