VBA to code Entity Relationship diagrams DBCROW_M.vssx

Started by aussie_neil, September 01, 2021, 04:08:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

aussie_neil

First of all thank you for letting me join your group.  I am by no means a professional programmer and most of my VBA is for Excel but I have done some VBA in Project and Outlook and I now have cause to do some programming in Visio.  I am using Visio Professional 2016.

I am looking at documenting the tables in a database, there are about 40 tables.  Some of the tables are small (meta tables containing 2 attributes) whilst others are quite large (70'ish attributes).  I did not build the database, just documenting it.  Once I have done this one I expect to be doing many others.

All the data is written to a 2D array which works fine.  I have created a number of VBA functions, they work quite well.  Some of the code I have reverse engineered from using the macro  recorder and then adapted for my use.

The first task is to create a blank table.  When this is done it creates a table with 3 attributes.  The object is made up of a number of sub-objects, since some of my tables only have 2 entities I figured it would be easier to remove all the attributes and just start building the table.  I  have written VBA to:

1.  create the "parent" table
    2.  a function to identify the highest value object-id (developer|Shape Name)
    3.  delete attributes by referencing the object-id
    4.  rename the entity to a table name as per my 2D array

Essentially all that is left is the name of the table.  From here I intend to create an attribute and name it looping through my 2D data array.  I have used the macro recorder to create the code so that I can adapt it but this is where I am running into trouble.

Sub Macro22()

'Enable diagram services
    Dim DiagramServices As Integer
    DiagramServices = ActiveDocument.DiagramServicesEnabled
    ActiveDocument.DiagramServicesEnabled = visServiceVersion140 + visServiceVersion150