Passing arguments from Visio Shapesheet to procedure in VBA not working

Started by alexiscg, March 18, 2021, 06:15:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alexiscg

I have been working with Visio VBA for a couple of years and I constantly pass arguments from the ShapeSheet of a shape to several procedures in VBA using either RUNMACRO() or CALLTHIS() Functions. I either pass pass plain strings or the value of different formulas in the ShapeSheet. The most common argument that I pass to my procedures is the ID() of the shape. The issue that I am facing is that for some reason after I received a patch update of windows: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/topic/march-15-2021-kb5001566-os-build-18363-1441-out-of-band-23c4c824-8638-43e9-a381-ff58213ae6fe , I am no longer able to pass arguments from the ShapeSheet of a Shape to my procedures in VBA. Whenever I use RUNMACRO or CALLTHIS, all the arguments that I pass, even if they are plain strings, in my procedure side everything that I get is "", blank information. Is there a way to know if this is just a bug or if this something that on purpose is staying in Visio VBA, maybe as a security measure. Must of my procedures are based on passing arguments from the ShapeSheet Shape to my VBA procedures and this issue is definitely putting me in a really bad spot, I was hoping that someone can help me with this.
Here is a simple example procedure:

Public Function HelloWorld(Number As Integer)

If Number = 1 Then

MsgBox ("Hello World 1")

End If

If Number = 2 Then

MsgBox ("Hello World 2")

End If

End Function
And this procedure is called in the EventDblClick of a Shape:

RUNMACRO("HelloWorld(1)","Test")
When the EventDblClick is triggered the value of Number stays as null, ignoring completly the argument sent in the RUNMACRO function, which is a 1. Since the argument of Number in the HelloWorld() function is not optional, it triggers an "Argument not optional" Compile error message.

Visisthebest