Diagram Connector Line problems

Started by saratogacoach, January 10, 2021, 04:56:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

saratogacoach

Hi,
I am new to Visio, learning how to use it. I am working on a basic zigzag line (VSDX file attached) and cannot get it to work. When dynamically stretched, the zigzag elements do not correctly stretch and resize. Cannot add connector points. Have been trying to change the line's shapesheet settings, but so far no matter what I try to change/fix, this does not fix the line.

I would much appreciate if someone can take a look at the attached VSDX file, let me know what I am doing wrong, how I can fix it so that the line can stretch/resize when grabbed at the handles, and also have connection points (both ends, and one in the center), so it can be used as a connector to attach to other shapes.

Thank you for your help.
saratogacoach

vojo

saratogacoach

Thank you for your reply and suggestions.  :)

OK, I used the link and guidelines and got a new repeating/tiling fill pattern that begins to look like what is needed.

I used a rectangle basic shape for this new fill pattern, stretches and scales OK. (see attached VSDX file)

Now, since this to be used as a connector line between 2 other shapes in the genogram/diagram, I need to add connector points to this line at both ends, get them to glue when matched with the other shapes' connector points. So far, even with adding new connector points, I have not succeeded. Can't get the new line/shape to connect with others.

Is there any setting (s) for getting new connector points onto this new patterned shape (at each end) to successfully connect with other shapes?

Thank you very much for your help.
saratogacoach

vojo

With fill pattern, all you are doing is defining the appearance of the line so the line pattern has nothing to do with connection points.

3 options

1) usually a line has connection points on the ends...if works for you, all you need to do is select the line pattern