Link and trace documents visio + sharepoint

Started by brukssnus, December 17, 2020, 07:32:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

brukssnus

Hello everyone,
Im new here on the forum.

And I am also fairly new to visio and sharepoint but I have a need to create a quality system for my company.
Have looked around and ready-made solutions cost me far too much at this stage.

Is there anyone who can help me with what I need to be able to create a system for visio together with sharepoint?

Must be a flow chart with linked documents to the various processes in the company.
all documentation should be traceable and revisions should also be traceable.

A little about me
Beginner Visio
Worked for several years with Ironcad
Worked a lot with illustrator and photoshop
Runs an online shop for 3 years

Have worked last 2 years with sharepoint, no server / admin role but as user.

Do you think that this task is completely beyond my knowledge?

Surrogate

It is not possible in Visio "out-of-box" !
You can find 3rd-party solution, but it is very expensive!!! For example Enterprise Explorer.
Also you can create your own solution, but you need write your code for do it...

Nikolay

Can't you just store the documents in a SharePoint library with versioning enabled, then create a page with flowchart with hyperlinks to those documents?

I mean, any user can do that, it's a basic SharePoint usage scenario...
Do you have some specific requirements in mind - otherwise it's not clear what to develop here, you just do "save as", select the target library and that's it?

What do you mean by "tracing a document"?

cliff50

in my world.. "tracing a document" meant ->  the most recent version of a document was able to list all changes made to it .. by whom and when .
Text based documents are relatively easy to detect changes, However,  Graphic based documents are more challenging  .. "a picture is worth a thousand words"