Author Topic: Space Shape Units  (Read 536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

visioboy4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Space Shape Units
« on: July 22, 2020, 09:54:31 PM »
Greetings all!

I'm working on a office plan layout and am using the space shape to show the square footage of each area/room.  Everything works fine but I would like the shape to display "120 SF" instead of "120 sq. ft.".  I've dug around a bit on the ShapeSheet but can't seem to find where it specifies this text abbreviation.

Is this something that can be changed in the ShapeSheet (or somewhere else) or is it baked into Visio with no hope of mods without creating a custom shape?

vojo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1515
Re: Space Shape Units
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2020, 08:59:18 AM »
could try something like this

Where every you are getting the 120 SQ FT from ==> props.mydata 
           //shape data row in shapesheet where units turned off and row is hidden
user.myunits = props.mydata + " SF"
user.myunits ==> where ever you want to use it.

or

use substitute function to take out SQ FT and then add SF.
something like

user.myunits = substitute("120 SQ FT", "SQ FT"," SF")

visioboy4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Space Shape Units
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2020, 01:54:43 PM »
Sorry, I'm not quite getting this.  Are you saying props.mydata is already there and just hidden or that I need to add it in?

I have the ShapeSheet open but can't find props.mydata under the Shape Data section.


vojo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1515
Re: Space Shape Units
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2020, 09:33:52 PM »
you have to add it.   Best way is to
right click the shape ==> create shape data ==>follow GUI steps

you might want to turn on developer mode   file==> advanced options ==> at the bottom "enable developer mode"