Simple VBA question

Started by maclarkson, September 02, 2019, 10:20:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

maclarkson

Hi all,

I am a bit of a newb to programming.

I have a data field that is populated from an excelsheet called prop.objectname in the shapes sheet. Is there a way to update the shapes text with this value when the object is either linked to its data or the linked data is refreshed.

Many thanks in advanced

dpetrov

Hi mate,

if get this right, you want to populate diagram changes with information provided by excel (e.g. changing hostnames of device). If this is the case - you don't even need programming. One way of doing it is to use Shape data for device naming. So when you're to name a device, use the [field] (from Insert -> Field) and then use the hostname property from the shape data. This way as soon as you import the new table the shape name will change (you'll still have to have some unique indexes such as ShapeKey, etc).

Hope this makes sense and answers your question.

maclarkson

I know about inserting fields, but this is not what I need to do. I want to specifically change the shape text.

vojo

Nikolay

There is an option in my old BackSync extension to set shape text form shape data (also ShapeSheet formulas, if needed, like "PinX" or "Fill")
You could try if it still works :D

maclarkson

hay Nicolay,

I installed your addin a while ago and ts an excellent little adding. I would love to have a go at building something like that. would you be interested in starting up an open source project with me?

I am an Enterprise architect and I have using visio, Aris, Orbus, Mega and a whole heap of other tools. They are extremely expensive.