Multipage Drawings - Shape zoom to PDF (hyperlinks)

Started by AllenDiesel, December 05, 2018, 03:10:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AllenDiesel

Im fairly new to Visio and this forum.. so excuse me if this should be posted in another forum here.

I am making large scale diagrams and am having issues with hyperlinks and shape zoom%.
The hyperlinks created go to the correct shape, and zoom appropriately within VISIO -- but when I save as a PDF these attributes no longer work.
Is there a way to save shape data when saving my document as a PDF?

Also, is there a way to create a "Back" button on pages, that operates similarly to a browser back button?
For example... Say I am on page 2 and I click a hyperlink that takes me to page 9... Is there a way to make a button (that works when saved to PDF) to be able to just go "back" to the previous page?

Lastly, Are there ways to create drop down lists naming specific pages... and then once using the dropdown... be taken to a certain page selected on the menu?

Are any of these features able to be done in Visio and also still functioning when saved in a PDF format??
Can anyone lead me in a good direction as far as what I can do to make my diagrams better and more interactive in PDF Format??

Thanks so much,
Allen

AllenDiesel

Even have tried Adobe Acrobat Pro to "Save as Adobe PDF" to retain shape data and the zoom function still does not work on my hyperlinks. Any ideas?

metuemre

This post may help for the Shape Data issue http://visguy.com/vgforum/index.php?topic=8581

It's possible to make a Back button with VBA. See the attached example for a sample implementation of page navigation

You can manually change zoom levels of each hyperlink in pdf. See a similar question in Adobe forum https://forums.adobe.com/thread/577302

AllenDiesel

Thanks so much for your help!!!

The forum post you linked to about the shape data in PDF is awesome... so is the macro you posted on the visio file there.