Author Topic: limit to context menu items?  (Read 907 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sockmonkeyrevolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
limit to context menu items?
« on: January 12, 2018, 11:35:08 AM »
Does anyone know if there's a limit to the number of actions that can be displayed in the context menu on a shape?

I've written context menu code to allow the user to change the fields that display on the front of the shape so they don't have to open the shape to see copy translations when walking through a design. This was working perfectly until I had to add a new slew of languages.  I now have 64 action rows for choices (these are broken up and nested as flyout children under 5 parents.) the code is executing properly, all user rows and action rows and the If statement from hell that controls the display are there and appear correctly and if I manipulate the selected value on the shape sheet the display is working, however when I right click to open the context menu the last 7 children in the 4th parent don't display and the entire 5th parent and all of it's children is missing from the context menu. 

I'm not seeing anything in the shape sheet that would be making these invisible, so I can only assume right now that there is some kind of limit to the number of items that could be displayed in the context menu, even if they are nested in smaller chunks.

Any Ideas how to get around this? 

wapperdude

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3330
  • Ideas Visio-lized into solutions
Re: limit to context menu items?
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2018, 05:30:31 PM »
Care to upload example?

I'm sure there is a limit... my guess is Paul Herbert might know this.
There might be a work-around, but difficult to say without seeing example.

Wapperdude
Visio 2019 Pro

Paul Herber

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2672
    • Paul Herber's website
Re: limit to context menu items?
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2018, 05:08:42 AM »
No, sorry, I'm working on actions for some shapes at the moment, but I've never used fly-out action menus.
I've never come across any limits on this.
Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils and applications for Visio -

http://www.paulherber.co.uk/

wapperdude

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3330
  • Ideas Visio-lized into solutions
Re: limit to context menu items?
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2018, 12:02:27 PM »
@Paul:  oops, didn't catch mispelling of your name, apologies.

@revoltingsockmonkey...sorry, couldn't resist...as an alternative approach, you could have just your main categories on the actions menu, and each would call up appropriate shapedata list.  This would limit the size/ # of entries to the context menu.

Just a thought.

Wapperdude
Visio 2019 Pro

metuemre

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
Re: limit to context menu items?
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2018, 01:47:57 AM »
This post may give you some ideas,

http://visguy.com/vgforum/index.php?topic=8065

sockmonkeyrevolt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: limit to context menu items?
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2018, 10:01:13 AM »
sorry to get back to this so late, got pulled away for another project for a few.  Thanks for the responses and especially  @metuemre , that thread does seem to confirm my fears that you can only have 50 display regardless of if they are broken up into visually manageable chunks. Fortunately for me it's only one of my shapes that has too many combinations, and the options that get cut off are special edge case ones that are less likely to be needed, so it will give me some time to think up some other solution.

Unfortunately having the categories call up another form of options isn't an ideal solution for me as the goal of the context menu options is to allow the user to quickly and more naturally flip between versions of the copy on the fly when doing design walkthrus with stakeholders or when using the design to QA that the correct voice is played, instead of needing to open the shape's information panel. If I'm adding a form to change the view, the user might as well just open the info panel and access the copy options that way, because I've added steps to the process. (The context menu has been an option for several iterations of the tool, it's only now that I'm adding support for more than 2 languages that I've taxed the apparent limit.) I'm thinking now of just creating another custom ribbon tab where the user could pick the prompt type they want to view and it will flip the actions for the selected shape (provided the shape has that option.) which might be even easier for the user as they wouldn't need to right click, and would allow it to be scaled to change all the shapes on the page to be changed at once.

I love a good design problem, except when it pops up in the middle of trying to deploy the solution to another design problem. :)

@wapperdude I should totally start taking that handle online too, it could be my 80s TV evil twin personality, my punk rock alter-ego, or a good roller derby name :)