Multi-Shape with crop-ability and automatic resize

Started by KyleL, October 01, 2017, 08:57:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KyleL

Hello,
I'm looking for some help on creating a multi-shape from many "foreign images" (200+). I've used the shape sheet to create a menu on this grouped multi-shape to select a specific image. The shapes range in different sizes and this causes the drawing canvas to always expand to the largest shape. Is there a way to shrink the effect on the canvas to the selected image size? I have tried NoObjHandles, NoCtlHandles, NoAlignBox, etc.. but they dont seem to remove this effect.
The use of the crop tool on selected images is needed as well, but that function seems to disappear when more than one image is grouped. Does anyone have any suggestions that don't require coding?
I have no experience other than what I've picked up on hiding images and would greatly appreciate some help/direction to the right posts.

Yacine

Yacine

Nikolay

I would suggest you make your images same size first. And then insert.

For making images same size, you could use for example a a wonderful imagemagic command line tool.
If there is something that can be done with an image, then that tool can do it. In particular, here are options for reisze

KyleL

To Yacine,
Would I have to insert the images as fill patterns before grouping them into a multi-shape? Does this change the foreign image to a different format that has different shape properties?

to Nikolay,
I cannot make the images the same size because I need them to be different sizes. For example, I tried to create a multi-shape for a pipe in small, medium and large lengths in horizontal and vertical orientation. All the pipes have to be the same scale so they fit together in a piping system.

wapperdude

What is the end goal of all of this?

200+ images can be somewhat large file. 

Yes, grouping will not allow cropping.

Wapperdude
Visio 2019 Pro

KyleL