does visio 2016 work with access 2010 and/or azure?

Started by CJ_London, June 19, 2017, 02:51:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CJ_London

Hi,

My first post here. I am primarily an access/excel developer and now have a need for a client to use visio for presentation purposes.

I am getting to grips with Visio, but struggling to understand how it relates to other applications. For a bit of background, my client uses Access 2010 and I can get the visio viewer activeX control to display assorted visio files downloaded from the web as a test. So far so good.

I've now downloaded visio 2016 trial version and can create a simple organisation chart based on data retrieved from an access database (using the wizard). Also all well and good.

But I have two problems.

The first problem is that the visio file appears to be fixed. I cannot find a way to refresh the data if a change is made to the underlying data in Access, and I cannot see where to look to view that underlying data other than what is displayed. Is it not possible to link to the data? or does this have to be done with vba code in the documentopen event? Or perhaps there is a hidden table somewhere?

The second problem is I saved the file as a .vsdx, but although I have specified the full path and name in the visio viewer activeX control it does not appear. I don't get any errors and the control does display the ribbon at the top and the record navigator at the bottom, but it is clear there is no image displayed. Is this a problem with using access 2010 to view a 2016 .vsdx? If so, is there a fix?

If I can't solve these two problems, or at least have a satisfactory workaround (upgrading my client to office 2016 is not a satisfactory solution) then I'll need to abandon trying to use visio.

And if the problems are solved, I'll not doubt have some questions on deployment. But one step at a time.

Thank your for looking at this post and hopefully responding