ShapeSheet influenced by checkbox

Started by Grinsekatze, August 13, 2017, 05:10:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grinsekatze

Hey,

I am new to visio and I have 2 questions.

Can I connect control elements like a checkbox with a shape?
I want that the LineWeight changes if I select the checkbox. In the end, it should look like LineWeight=if(CheckBox1=True,12pt,40pt).

My second question is like the first one. I have a textbox and some dynamic connector. The connector should be invisible if the value in the textbox is higher as the properties of the connector. I tried
Geometry1.NoLine=if(textbox1>prop._VisDm_TestValue,TRUE,FALSE) but it is not working.

I hope you got my point and can help me.

Best regards

Yacine

Yes you can do it, but I rather recommend to stay with Visio's own UI.

For the check box, add a custom property to the page. eg Prop.LineWeight. Set its data type to fixed list. Write "12pt;40pt" in its format cell. Now in the shapesheet of the shape, go to the lineweight cell and write : "thepage!prop.lineweight".

Same process for the 2nd question.
Yacine

wapperdude

Quoteif(textbox1>prop._VisDm_TestValue,TRUE,FALSE)
I don't think this does anything.

textbox1 doesn't refer to any variable that has a numeric value, or any type of value for that matter.

Wapperdude
Visio 2019 Pro

Yacine

I couldn't find neither a direct way.

But using VBA, you can alter the value of a custom field of the page.
Private Sub TextBox1_Change()
ActivePage.PageSheet.Cells("prop.Row_1").FormulaU = Chr(34) & TextBox1.Text & Chr(34)
End Sub
Yacine

Hey Ken

Grinsekatze:

Got just what you need.  Attached is a Visio drawing with a checkbox shape.  Right click to check/uncheck/cross it, or enable/disable it.  The current state is kept in User.Status, which you can reference for your LineWeight IF.

No idea why your NoLine does not work.  Let me suggest you put your complex IF in a User cell, then reference that in the NoLine.

Good luck!

- Ken

Ken V. Krawchuk
Author