"Macro-Anti-Angle"

Started by celoranta, February 08, 2017, 07:31:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

celoranta

I've found this forum to be a massive wealth of information over the last six months whilst cutting my teeth on Visio.  Thanks to all of you.

That said, I've finally come up against a problem I seem unable to solve.  Visguy, you'll appreciate it as I'm a fellow AV professional.

I've created a tool for sizing video displays to a scale drawing of a room.  Simply import a CAD plan to scale, grab the stencil, rotate to match the display location, and change the user-configurable EVALTEXT-style variables to affect valid view angles and distance view class.  <see attachment "cool.">

I've used circles as my text input shapes to allow seamless rotation.  Text remains legible regardless of group angle, thanks to an anti-angle formula.  The problem comes when I try to rotate a circle containing multiple mini-shapes with multiple EVALTEXT fields.  Although I can force each block of text to anti-rotate, the fields rotate around each other as the X-Y axes of the group rotate.  <see attachment "ugh.">

Ideally the screen size and aspect ratio (100, and 16:9 in my attachments) would remain right-side up AND in their proper arrangement relative to the VIEWER, rather than the GROUP.  Can anyone suggest a way to accomplish this?  I assume it can be done by comparing the group angle to 0deg and using trig to chart a "true north" by which to set the X,Y coordinates.  Is this the easiest/best way?

While I'm on the subject, can anyone suggest a better way to handle the aspect ratio input?  Standard notation is XX:YY, but such a value can't be interpreted by visio as two separate variables separated by a colon. (So far as I can tell, anyway.)  I've resorted to separate EVALTEXT shapes for the "16" and the "9," but this exacerbates the problem I detailed above.  Suggestions?

Thanks again for being the best Visio training resource on the interwebs.

wapperdude