How to Call Sub in Stencil from macro/sub in document

Started by razmichael, February 26, 2009, 02:02:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

razmichael

Hi Everyone,

I'm fairly new at Visio coding and have run into a irritating problem that I hope I can find a solution for.  I have a database that contains data to be used in part to draw diagrams in Visio.  This is generally used in a dynamic manner - make a data change, produce the diagram to review, delete the diagram and try different data. 

Initially I wrote the code in the visio document/template.  I tied the running of the code to a macro with a shortcut key to allow for quick and easy access.  To ease deployment and upgrades, I moved the code to a stencil but could no longer run this from a short cut key.  I could use the tools menu and navigate through to the stencil macros to run but this is irritating over and over again.  I have tried numerous formats to try to call a sub in the stencil but no luck.  Adding the stencil to the references solves this issue but causes other problems with paths being wrong etc.  I have looked at programing to add the ref dynamically based on the current location of the opening document but this seems like much too much work to only get to use a short cut key.  I've found the details on using CallThis and other options but none fit this problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Michael

Lars-Erik

So you want a macro in the document to run a macro in one of you stencils?
You could try the following.

In this example the following code is in my test stencil called Stencil1 (You don't need this)

Public Sub RunMe()
    MsgBox ("test")
End Sub

Then the following code would go in your document (all of it):

Sub Run()
    Dim nSencil As Integer
    Dim i As Integer

For i = 1 To Application.Documents.Count
        If Application.Documents(i).Name = "Stencil1" Then
        nStencil = i
        End If
    Next i

Call Application.Documents(nStencil).RunMe

End Sub