Background Size Dependencies

Started by kdjohannes, September 14, 2016, 01:47:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kdjohannes

Hi everyone! I am new to using Viso 2010 but have caught on pretty quick. I saw another thread similar to this topic (http://visguy.com/vgforum/index.php?topic=929.0) but because it was old and because this is still different in my opinion, I created a new one.

I am aiming to create a template for all of my process maps at work. I have created a .vst file and added a background page so that my "custom" background/template appears on every page. However, I don't want to limit myself to only a certain page size. I have set the default size to 11x17" which is what I print on and I have also set Auto Size on. However, when I start going off of the page, the template does not change with the page size. Here's the template I created (image attachment 17):

All of these are separate shapes. I want them all to expand/move/change depending on what part of the page is getting larger.
Here's what happens now (image attachment 18):

What I want to happen is the bottom right boxes to move over to the bottom right of the expanded page and for all borders to expand.

I've played around with different suggestions in the ShapeSheet tool based on what suggestions were made in the above thread. But nothing is fully working. Is what I want even possible?

Thanks in advance guys.

kdjohannes

Also if I need to change on I embedded my images let me know. I don't know how to get rid of the scroll bar. I attached them as well in case the links didn't work...google drive is weird.

brandyph

I recreated your scenario and my background adjusted to any size I selected.   Maybe because I'm using 2013 Pro.

I started with 8.5 x 11 and changed it 10 11 x 17 and the background stretched as required.

1.  I opened a "New" diagram
2.  Selected a "Blank"
3.  Went to "Page Setup" and selected 8x11
4.  Went to "Design" and selected "Backgrounds"
5.  Selected "Shapes"