Custom Shape prevent size from changing

Started by jeffreypmc, August 04, 2016, 01:48:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeffreypmc

I am very new to Visio.  I have Visio 2013.

I have created a custom Stencil with one custom shape.  When I created the shape I made it 84" x 43", but when I use that shape in another project is come in 673' x 372'.  How do I make my shape so that is stays the size I made it?

Thanks

Jeff

wapperdude

This is called antiscaling.  There are a couple off formulas you need to add to the shapesheet.  See http://www.visguy.com/2007/08/21/text-resizing-with-shapesheet-formulas/

This is not restricted to text resizing.

There's also this link:  https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa201736(v=office.10).aspx

Wapperdude
Visio 2019 Pro

jeffreypmc

I have tried applying what is in the two articles you sent me, but no luck.  I feel like I am overlooking something simple, but I don't see it.

I have created User.AntiScale DrawingScale/PageScale.  Shape still comes in the wrong size.  Do I need to re-import my new shapes or something?

Thanks

wapperdude

Hmmm.  Think I misinterpreted what you meant by stay same size.

When, you did original shape, did you set the scale to something other than 1:1?

Wapperdude
Visio 2019 Pro

jeffreypmc

I am more basic than you think  :).  Very new to Visio.  I just created a new drawing using English Units.  Made  stencil with a shape (furniture) 84" by 24".  When I add my new shape to an existing drawing I want it to show up as 84" by 24".  It shows up as 300' by 600'.

So to answer your question, I don't know what scale was used for my shape or the drawing I am placing the shape in.

Thanks

wapperdude

New is good.  My problem is I don't have V2013, so can't give you specifics.