Author Topic: EMF or WMF import issue  (Read 3726 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jonas@e-home.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
EMF or WMF import issue
« on: April 18, 2016, 03:14:40 PM »
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone has run into a resolution issue with Visio 2016.  We are previously 2007 users and import EMF or WMF files with clear resolution.  When using Visio 2016 the line resolution is now lost (low res).  Anyone have suggestions for these types of image files?

Jonas

JuneTheSecond

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
    • Visio Shapes, Stencils and Sample Drawings
Re: EMF or WMF import issue
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2016, 06:33:41 PM »
I am using Visio2016 pro for Office 365.
I tested for EMS and VGS, simple rectangle made in Visio and saved as EMF or SVG.
But they looks clear resolution to me.
For both insert image and open image file.
Best Regards,

Junichi Yoda
http://june.minibird.jp/

Nikolay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
    • UnmanagedVisio
Re: EMF or WMF import issue
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2016, 02:42:15 PM »
It seems that EMF has problems with Visio 2013/2016, SVG is fine.

Just asked very recently:
http://visguy.com/vgforum/index.php?topic=7147

jonas@e-home.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: EMF or WMF import issue
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2016, 05:38:43 PM »
Thanks for the suggestions.  I tried an AutoCAD to SVG converter but I'm not getting the desired results.  I lose drawing detail in the conversion. I was using Amethist CADwizz to convert these drawings to emf. or wmf. while maintaining resolution.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2016, 05:49:53 PM by jonas@e-home.com »

JuneTheSecond

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
    • Visio Shapes, Stencils and Sample Drawings
Re: EMF or WMF import issue
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2016, 01:57:18 AM »
Visio has menu to insert AutoCad dwg or dxf file.
Did you try them?
Best Regards,

Junichi Yoda
http://june.minibird.jp/

jonas@e-home.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: EMF or WMF import issue
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2016, 02:07:44 PM »
Yes, it's just a more cumbersome process for us.  It also involves trial and error unless you know of a good method to go about it. 

Paul Herber

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2795
    • Paul Herber's website
Re: EMF or WMF import issue
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2018, 03:22:05 PM »
Resurecting an old thread, but I've just been testing SVG and EMF import in Visio 2016 and both seem fine in the latest version. (16.0.9029.2167) 64-bit.
Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils and applications for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/