cant edit text field from stencil

Started by DFelch, November 11, 2015, 05:39:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DFelch

Hello, i am new to using advanced features in Visio 2010.  I have created a small form with multiple text box object fields in design mode and then grouped them and saved the grouped object as a stencil.  When i bring the stencil into a new document I cant type in the text boxes.  It seems to be stuck in some kind of an "object select" mode where i can select the boxes but cant enter text.

If I simply enter and then exit design mode this condition is fixed and the text boxes behave normally.  Is there a property i need to edit to prevent this? or am i just attempting to get the end result in the wrong way?  Any help would be appreciated.

Yacine

Do I understand right that you are working with control elements instead of shapes?
If so, what are you trying to achieve?

I did try it and confirm that the controls dropped on the drawing behave first as shapes.
But a double click brings them back to their initial behaviour.
Also saving and re-opening the shapes has the same effect.

HTH,
Y.
Yacine

DFelch

Thanks for the reply.  When i first drop the text box from the Controls menu onto the drawing in Design Mode it behaves as an object (meaning that one click selects the shape and two clicks edits the text).  After exiting Design Mode the text box behaves as a text box only ( meaning one click "in the text field" brings up a cursor for entering text, one click "on the box frame" selects the object).

The problem is when i bring it in as part of a grouped stencil it behaves as grouped objects with no way to enter text.  The first click selects the group, the second click selects the individual object.  No additional clicks are accepted so there is no way to enter text.

For some reason simply entering and then exiting Design Mode restores the correct function.