Adjust shape size to text with tabulator at the end of the shape

Started by Tom131, March 18, 2015, 10:45:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tom131

Dear Visio experts,

I am relatively new to Visio and still reading into the ShapeSheet formulas. I already did a lot of trial and error and created master shapes and templates for the university. I have to improve one of these shapes but the following problem is driving me nuts.

I created a list master with some member shapes. The member shapes do have two ShapeData variables and the width of the shapes should dynamically adjust to the width of the text. The value of the ShapeData should be displayed in the text. So far this isn't a problem at all - I set the Width cell to GUARD(MAX(User.ListWidth,TEXTWIDTH(TheText))) with IFERROR(((LISTSHEETREF()!Width)-2 mm),50 mm).

And here comes the problem: I need to align the first ShapeData (simple text, name of a method) on the left side of the shape and the second ShapeData (decimal value) to the right side. I can do this dynamically by creating a tab stop with align "3" at position WIDTH. But because the shape width has to adjust to the text width this creates some kind of circular formula: The position of the tab stop depends on the width of the shape, the width of the shape depends on the width of the text and the width of the text depends on the position of the tap stop. Because of this the shape is getting wider and wider until visio stops the calculation.

I try to sketch the shape as it should look:

+--------------------------------------+
| name()                                    1.475 |
+--------------------------------------+

I would be very thankfully if you can give me a hint or point me in the right direction.

Thank you!

Cheers,

Tom131

Yacine

I posted some days ago a small tool adressing your problem.
It does not answer the specific positioning problem, but shows how to display different shape data in sub-shapes.