Author Topic: Using the data feature with Excel  (Read 5394 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cmarkee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Using the data feature with Excel
« on: March 11, 2015, 12:23:58 PM »
Hello,
I have a process flow diagram for a manufacturing process.  My goal is to set up an excel sheet that i can link with the data.  I have done this, made stencils ect so that my diagrams are all similar. 
My problem is I don't want to control two documents.  The excel document will contain additional details for the process routing group.  I want to embed the excel in the visio, make it so when this excel is updated the data can still be updated in visio via the data link. 

cmarkee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2015, 01:54:29 PM »
Sorry,
maybe my question has been answered or its unclear?

Yacine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2703
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2015, 03:17:05 AM »
Yes, the first glance at your question suggested that you did not do enough own research to understand the data philosophy of Visio.
Reading a little bit more carefully your post, revealled that you stepped into one of Visio's problems:
  the capability to edit the shapes data in a table form in Visio itself.

There could be solutions to overcome this lack, but I wouldn't know of any comfortable solution for this problem.
Nikolay has even written a brilliant solution to synchronize external data with the shapes data (http://unmanagedvisio.com/products/backsync-backward-visio-data-synchronization/),
but it is still not as comfortable as what you are asking for.

I'm not saying that it is not feasable, but you'll have to invest a lot of work to get your wish working.

Regards,
Yacine
Yacine

cmarkee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2015, 07:32:36 AM »
Thanks Yacine.
If anyone else has suggestions I am open to it.  Fairly new to working with the data features of Visio 2010.

cmarkee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2015, 09:18:10 AM »
So here is what I have for my shape.  Maybe I am making this too difficult and there is a way to link it to a table inside visio?

Nikolay

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 945
    • UnmanagedVisio
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2015, 09:54:23 AM »
Let us know if you are aware of the Visio data-linking?
It's not quite clear from your message.

From Visio MVP videos, part 8, linking shapes with data: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSeLZ0ip_oI

cmarkee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2015, 10:01:08 AM »
So this box I posted is linked to an excel sheet on my desktop computer.  It uses the work center to reference the rest of the data.
The problem comes when I want to implement this as the standard at work I guess.
Implementing this standard (using the Visio box as a standard for all process flow work centers) we would have to control two documents all the time, at every update.
How can I maintain the Visio file without having two documents.  I want to either incorporate the Visio into the  the excel file, the Excel file into the Visio file or an excel sheet in the visio file that lets me keep this link style update.
Not sure if that makes sense.

cmarkee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2015, 10:01:39 AM »
Thanks Ill check these out.

Let us know if you are aware of the Visio data-linking?
It's not quite clear from your message.

From Visio MVP videos, part 8, linking shapes with data: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZSeLZ0ip_oI

Croc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • Visioport
Re: Using the data feature with Excel
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2015, 04:14:49 PM »
A little example with Excel, embedded in Visio. The update is performed using a macro.
The ID field is used as unique identifier.
For refreshing of data perform the drop-down menu "Refresh" on the shape with Excel. This will update all shapes, where Prop.ID = ID field in Excel.