Author Topic: Area select without dragging background  (Read 16466 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tomscrace@gmail.com

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Re: Area select without dragging background
« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2022, 04:28:48 PM »
Using the Lasso tool is pretty good for selecting items... but still doesn't get you what you need.

vojo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1670
Re: Area select without dragging background
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2022, 07:54:27 PM »
I suppose the CTLR+clk...clk...clk does not address your need?

Yacine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2950
Re: Area select without dragging background
« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2022, 01:51:08 AM »
I think the problem is not doing CTLR+clk...clk...clk, but to do it over and over again.

In Jupyterlab I help myself by defining lists of shapes.

eg:
myRedShapes = list(vWin.Selection)
myBlueShapes ...

and reusing them - eg:
[vWin.Select(shp,visSelect) for shp in myRedShapes]

or

for shp in myBlueShapes:
  shp.Cells(xyz).Formula = 123

so far for the unuseful REPL functionality of Jupyterlab ( ;) ).


For VBA I thought about writing a modeless form with a list holding lists of shapes.
There would be a "save selection as..." button, probably also a delete and a re-define one.
Selecting an item in the list would select the according shapes.
The list items would be stored in the shapesheet of the doc or the page.

There would be also a possibility to have dynamic lists - that is where you define a condition instead of having a fixed list.

The selection routine will need to cover the case when shapes are deleted and update the item accordingly.

... unfortunately I have it already in Jupyterlab, so my motivation to write it in VBA is not the highest.
--> could be something for Paul's tool collection


Continuation here:
http://visguy.com/vgforum/index.php?topic=9904.msg45283#msg45283
« Last Edit: July 01, 2022, 07:56:45 AM by Yacine »
Yacine

Yacine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2950
Re: Area select without dragging background
« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2022, 02:06:52 AM »
... by the way, there's one option which has been named already but not described in the depth it deserves.

Put the background shapes on a "background" layer, then depending upon the situation lock or unlock it. That's 3 mouse clicks away.
Yacine