Visio version='10.0' "The selected VDX file is invalid"

Started by javadude, October 09, 2014, 10:07:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

javadude

Hi All,
I'm new to Visio and I created a OrgChart using Visio version='10.0' template; I analyzed the structure and the syntax and all is OK; I compared it with other similar succesful VDX files and I can not see any difference that can explain why I can not open the related visio file created by me; more precise the error that I get (even following the general visio troubleshooting tips) is just a simple "The selected VDX file is invalid" that's it and just another line "Context: <VisioDocument><Pages><Page><Shapes><Shape><Prop>" ; I've configured Visio for debug mode but that is the only info I get about the error when trying to open the file which is not very helpful. Because I checked open and closing tags, general visio structure, template etc and all seems fine to me. I also looked for hidden characters like CR (carriage return \r ) or LF (line feed or new line if you want \n ) and all looks good similar with the successful VDX files that I can open; I thought that maybe it needs a final CR (since every visio line ends with \r\n ), so I included but makes no difference. Can someone point how we can debug visio charts that we create? What is the right procedure to find more info about the issues and errors when creating visio charts? I've attached a general org chart created by me.  - there is no XML or VISIO structure issue so I removed the attachment.

aledlund

According to the trapped error

"The 'PageProps' start tag on line 1678 position 2 does not match the end tag of 'Masters'. Line 1680, position 3."

hth,

al edlund

javadude

Hello and thanks for reply but exactly as I mentioned right there in a comment inserted by me:
<!-- ... Here I had to cut the file to fit into the acceptable attachment file size but all this page props are complete and correct rest assured , javadude -->