Best Practice for showing a document that has to be updated at multiple steps.

Started by DanK, September 29, 2014, 08:46:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DanK

Hi all,

As a flowchart rookie, I have a rookie question.

I have a process in which I need to update a document (which tracks the stage of completion) at many steps.  I am not sure how to show the updating of the document without making a very convoluted flowchart with every point having a connector to that document.

Could you please suggest what the best approach would be?

I have attached a quick document with 3 examples of how I considered doing this.  Please let me know if any of them is correct, or if there is a different method entirely.

Thanks in advance.

Warmest regards,
Dan

Yacine

For what it is worth (I don't do this kind of diagrams).
The first one shows best the intermediate operation.
As it keeps the actual important flow visible without the reader being forced to follow any complexe path.
Number 2 looks like a decision is to be taken, but all end in the update block.
Number 3 is understandble, but requires reading, which makes the understanding more difficult.

Cheers,
Yacine
Yacine

DanK

Thanks, Yacine.

It sounds like you are not too keen on the 2nd option either.  From everyone I spoke to, and empirically (connectors get tangled if you try this with a larger process flow), I'd agree that the 2nd is the worst.

I was thinking that there were enough manually tracked processes that there would be a well defined best practice around this. 

Thanks again, the input is appreciated.

Dan

Yacine

Not so long ago, Paul Herber adviced for a very similar request to google best pratices in diagramming.
I do agree with him, as Visio is just "the tool of choice". The layout itself is up to the "drawer".
Yacine

wapperdude