Reference child in a group by name

Started by austin80, September 02, 2014, 07:07:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

austin80

Hi,

I can't seem to figure this one out  ???

Is there a way to reference a child's property in a group by name? Or only by Sheet.ID?

Lets say i have a master "Olympic Flag" (With 5 children shapes named: Blue, Yellow, Black, Green, Red). When i drop the master shape, i give it a nameU of "FirstFlag". Is there any way to reference its child Blue ie "FirstFlag!Blue!FillForegnd". If its ID is 2, i can use "Sheet.2!FillForegnd" but is there a way to do this names?

Thanks,

Austin

Yacine

You can reference a shape by it's name, but a group's sub-shape isn't a property, so you can't build up a dependencies tree.
Just a very fast first thought.
Yacine

daihashi

A very hackish way to do this would be to create multiple user defined cells that reference the sub shapes ID. Then you could simply reference the sub-shape via the user-defined cell values in the group sheet.

This doesn't allow you to use nameU; however it allows you to still have control over the sub shape you want to change without having to always know the shape.ID that is generated upon drop.

The attached image shows a shapesheet example of this from one of my own documents. These cells are defined in my master, and they update to the new shapeID upon drop. In my master the sheet reference is listed as Sheet.5!BeginX, and you can see here that it is now Sheet.3314. If I ever want to change the value of beginX via VBA, then all I need to know is the group sheetID (or NameU) of the group shape that is on the page. If I don't know the groupShape ID then I can retrieve it automatically via VBA. The following code excerpt only grabs the group shp.ID, but it can be modified to also retrieve the sub-selected shape ID if you want.  In my documents, I have my group behaviors set to "Group Only" since my documents are very heavily automated.