Visio Shape Data

Started by philipbrown77, March 15, 2010, 12:33:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

philipbrown77

Hi,

I am fairly new to Visio shape data and its applications. However I have used Visio for many years. I am trying to create two things:

1: a shape data field that is like a text box - in that you can enter data in multiple lines; this is to store notes/description.
2: a shape data field that looks up to an external source. I have used the fixed value list type that lets you add multiple values, separated by a semicolon, however this doesn't allow for changes to the options to be made very easily. Therefore I would like to link to a list or database that can be easily updated externally which Visio references. Is this possible?

Thanks

Aeon

as far as i'm aware it's not possible to have a multiline shape data field.
You can however link data from an external source which has line breaks in it as the source of the data field content.
That is what i'm currently doing: got multiline excel cells which serve as the source of my callouts.

either way in the shape sheet, even the multiline text is represented on 1 single line, and i'm guessing it's the same thing for the regular shape data window.

for the second part of your question i have a suggestion but i haven't quite managed to test it out yet: i'll use excell again as an example, you can always extrapolate it to further your needs

my suggestion is to stick to the semicolonned way of working only make the shapesheet go find the semicolon "string" elsewhere.

take values in excel cells A2-E2 with the values A2:1 B2:2 C2:3 D2:4 E2:5,   

you can then link the datarow from the excel file to the shape where you want to use the dropdownlist,
this will cause the property fields to be created with as titles the name of the title row (if you checked that during the binding of the workbook to the visio drawing)

so say A1-E1 where holding the values option 1 --> option 5