Am I fighting against Visio 2007 here

Started by AndyWillis, October 11, 2013, 09:22:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AndyWillis

Hi All
I've been using Visio for about 4 years, but I feel that the way I'm trying to use the thing is not as intended.
Firstly - the dynamic grid.
This just seems to be a way of getting things off grid.  Zoom in and place a line, zoom out and it's off grid.  To stop this happening I now alway use a fixed 5mm grid.  Am I missing something here?
Next  - connection points.  Library shapes to not drag in on grid and connection points are almost never on grid.
Then - Connector tool.  It seems crazy the way the connector jumps away from the path I intend to where visio think it should go.  Straighteneing them up takes time, and despite my snap and glue preferences the connectors lines are almost never on grid.  I also have an issue placing an arrow on one end rather than both as it seems a 50/50 chance which end is which.  I can just see a tiny + and x on the end boxes but these are so small as to be virtually unreadable, can they be made larger?
Finally - If I group, either by selection or grouping in the Visio sense, some shapes and move them they are not on grid, I have to nudge the group to get them in posistion

Battling against Visio wastes a load of time and yet if I don't my (mainly system) diagrams are a mess.

Any suggestions appreciated

Andy

Jumpy

Maybe you could alter some shapes from the Visio library to fit on your 5mm Grid so that for example the connection points are aligned with the grid, too. Store those shapes in your own stencil, thus creating your own library.

Somwhere (in page menu?) you can adjust the "magnetic" force of you gridline. That is how strong are newly placed shapes are forced to snap to / align with the grid, and (maybe) how strong are connectorce forced to run along the grid lines.