Automatic Master selection with data from external Excel file

Started by Nico G, June 24, 2013, 04:10:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nico G

Hello folks,

I'm using Visio Premium 2010.

I want to build maps from JPG pictures with items on it, representing servers, PCs, printers or whatever. In order to do that I import the JPG into Visio and connect it to an external database (Excel file) with all the equipment description, value, unique ID and so on. A column in the Excel file represent the type of equipment (again: PC, Printer...). Everything works perfectly except that I when I drag and drop a value from my external database the Master (the shape) is not selected automatically.

Is there a way to automatically select the Master depending a value in the Excel File?

I tried to navigate through the forum to find answer to my question, but couldn't find exactly what I need. But since I'm completely new to Visio, maybe I don't use the correct wording :)

aledlund

I'm not quite sure of the flow you're attempting to accomplish.
" Everything works perfectly except that I when I drag and drop a value from my external database the Master (the shape) is not selected automatically."
al

Nico G

When I drag a value from the "External Data" panel (see picture attached) and drop it on a page the shape selected is the last Master Shape I used. I would like to get a shape according to a value in the external database.

aledlund

Unfortunately that form of shape selection (dragging a record) does bring the last master selected to the page. You'll probably have to write a little code to get what you want
pseudo code

wait for shape dropped event
if new shape is linked to a datarecordset
compare shape master with desired shape
if shapes are different
delete new shape and add the shape from the datarecordset

al

Nico G

Ok, thanks a lot al, I'm going to find a way to code it :)

Nico G