My Visio 2007 -> 2010 migration has been nothing but frustrating...

Started by chrispitude, April 03, 2013, 02:02:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chrispitude

Hi guys,

First let me say that I'm not trying to be a downer. I try to see the good in everything. My wife accuses me of being a stubborn optimist.

I am a technical writer for documentation that requires many diagrams. I rely quite heavily on Visio to be productive. My IT department recently upgraded me to Visio 2010. I normally look forward to software updates; it's always exciting to learn new features and get a few bugs fixed. However, my experience with Visio 2010 is that for almost every change I've noticed from Visio 2007, it's a change for the worse.

Some things I've noticed:

1. The new ribbon interface is simply awful. With toolbars, an entire powerful array of drawing tools was directly available. Now, I have to go searching for them. For me, the worst change was that line weight/style/arrows are pushed into a submenu; I use these frequently. (Also see #7 below.) I tried creating a quick access toolbar, but the flat row of tiny icons was not productive. I tried customizing the ribbon, but ran into unpredictable icon size issues.

I have no problem with Microsoft wanting to improve the experience for new or casual users, but they have done so at the detriment of their professional users who rely on this product on a daily basis.

2. If I have multiple documents open, there's no longer any taskbar feedback as to what's open. My taskbar is set to "Never combine." With other Office 2010 programs, each open document appears as a separate taskbar button, even when they share a single process. Visio 2010 does not follow this convention; it shows a single taskbar button. (I can flip between documents with Ctrl-tab or by navigating to the View tab and exploring the Switch Windows drop-down, but these are intrusive actions, not visual feedback.)