Floor Plan Color Link Data to Shapes

Started by Nunzy83, December 15, 2012, 05:48:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nunzy83

Hello all,
I am new to Visio so pardon if this was already addressed but I searched around and could not find an answer.
I have created a floor plan with shapes, desks, seats etc. and placed a text of each cube number next to these shapes.
So I just discovered that I can link these shapes to external data to show the names of the ppl and other information which has been great.
No I was wondering if there was a way to color coordinate the data to the shapes. Say on my data I have a cube that is vacant I want it to be green and people under Team A to be blue etc. So that I can just edit the data on the excel and then the floor plan automatically updates. Is this doable?
I tried playing around and creating a New Data Graphic, New Item, Color by Value but that failed. I grouped the shape to the text of the cube number wondering if that was the issue but that didn't make a difference.
Any help would be appreciated.

aledlund

you can use color by value to highlight shapes based upon data, but the data has to be in the objects shapedata. when you linked your shapes to external data was their group included in the linked data? you might check out sessions eight and nine
http://visio.microsoft.com/en-us/Get_Started/How_To/Learn_Visio_2010_from_Visio_MVPs/Pages/default.aspx

al

Nunzy83

Hi Al,

Thanks for the link. Although I am using 2007 it was a a great help as it showed a lot of tips.

Unfortunately, I am still having problems.

1. When linking my data from an Excel, I have some Seat # that are alphanumeric in the form of eg. 1234A or 5678B that would not carry over to Visio. It would carry over all other information in the rows but that field containing for eg. 1234A would just  be blank. I tried putting these cells in text format ="1234A" but it still didn't work. Those that are 1234 come up fine.