Master Stencil Shape Won't Save Changes

Started by BRCDbreams, December 02, 2012, 06:24:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BRCDbreams

I have a master stencil (a network switch) that I want to make a change to, the name of the shape when it displays so instead of Product-A, it will display Product-B, for example.  I have enabled editing of the master stencil, have edited the data field and then saved the changes to the master stencil. Then when I drag the master to a drawing page and the change is there.  Happiness  :)

But, when I save the visio file and reopen it, the master stencil reverts to the original value in the data field.  Saddness  :(

I suspect there is some kind of protection on the master stencil, but I've not been able to locate it in the shape sheet.

Thanks for any suggestions.

vojo

I have NEVER had that problem and I have done ALOT of tweaking masters / do save as / use later.

In fact, if you have done the "tweak master / save as something else / reopen visio file"   you should NOT even see the old master stencil
even if you have old master shapes in the current visio drawing.   Remember, shapes in the drawing will NOT be upgraded to this new version of the master  (visio drawing uses a doc stencil....drop a shape on the page = copy shape from master stencil to document stencil then drop on page).

So when you saved the update master....did you do the save as from the stencil side window?
You should be able to open the old master stencil and new master stencil.....if you can see both, then I really dont know (NEVER EVER seen this and have done this sequence literally 1000s times or more).   If you cant seen both, then you may have done something odd during save steps.

BRCDbreams

Vojo and other folks,