creating Visio doc from a vb.net program

Started by rmarma, April 19, 2012, 03:42:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rmarma

I'm a vb.net newbie and a visio complete newbie - Ive written programs that create and update excel spreadsheets so I know a little about automation
what I want to do is create a Visio doc in VB.net from parameters in a database file (timeline, intervals, milestones)
my first effort was to records macros in Visio while I created a doc but I am  having difficulty translating the code to vb.net -

before showing the code I have currently I was wondering if anyone has any examples of creating a visio doc with shapes entirely within vb.net

I want to thank all you programmer types that spend time helping with these visio questions - we are all busy and to take time to assist is very much appreciated

JohnGoldsmith

...also, if you haven't already, make sure you download the Visio 2010 SDK.  It has a code library of VBA, VB.NET and C# examples:

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=12365

Best regards

John
John Goldsmith - Visio MVP
http://visualsignals.typepad.co.uk/

rmarma

found an example in the sdk - so now can create a timeline with a milestone and interval - what I want to do now is set the properties (start stop date, scale, timeformat, description etc ) but I cant find a way to reference them - in aledlund's example vba code found in DR_TimeLine.vsd he can rightclick on  thisdocument and see a list of properties that include tlstartdate, tlstarttime, tlenddate, tlendtime etc
thisdocument is a visio object whose name value is DR_TimeLine.vsd (the name of the drawing)

but In my VB progam when I right click the document object whose name property is mytesting.vsd (the name of my drawing) I see a lesser list of properties
that dont include tlstarttime, tlendtime etc

2nd question which may be related how do I get / set values in the shapes shapesheet

thanks