Automatic text pop-up when shape/icon dragged onto worksheet

Started by deanos, March 06, 2012, 12:06:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deanos

Hi All,

newbie here so be kind  ;D
If what I am after has already been answered / discussed pls point me to that discussion, also, pls excuse any misuse of terminology.

Basically, what I am looking to do is somehow edit a few icons/shapes so that when they are dragged and dropped they automatically pop-up a text box where my colleagues can fill in / use drop downs for the text boxes.

Thanks in advance

Deanos 

Jumpy

With Visio2003 or newer, you can create shapes, that can contain ShapeData. There is a nice window-form where you can fill out the Data. You can define if the data should be text, numerical, a date and if the user can enter the values manually or via dropdownbox.

To call this nice window-form on drop event, go to the ShapeSheet of the Shape. In the Event-Section go to the onDrop cell and enter the formula =DOCMD(1312).

Paul Herber

It also works just as well in previous versions of Visio, except that the data was called Custom Properties instead of Shape Data.
Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

deanos

Thanks guys. I have managed to edit the Event section on drop formula as recommended. But the real dumb question is how do I save the icon back into the stencil set? Because when I drag and drop it it's not providing an auto pop up window form as I would expect. Thanks again in advance, Deanos

Jumpy

1) Shape to stencil:
-Open stencil in edit mode
-delete old master shape
-drag modified shape to stencil as new mastershape
-save stencil
-close stencil edit mode

2) In your drwanig:
- Open the so called document stencil
- delete every instance of the old shape from the document stencil
- save the drawing

3)
When you now drag and drop a shape (based on the new mastershape) to the drawing, it should have the desired effect.