Smart Arrow Behavior with a Group of Shapes

Started by Chance0066, September 01, 2011, 01:57:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chance0066

I'm new to Shapesheet, but I'm catching on fairly well by reading Visio Guy's articles, but I'm not finding the answer to the question I have anywhere.

I have a shape that is made up of two child groups and one basic rectangle. I want this shape to work almost exactly like a smart arrow would. I want to be able to click on the shape and elongate it with only the rectangle getting longer, while the child group keep their aspects. Although, I have not even figured out how to do this, the problem gets further complicated when I take into account that I need to be able to resize the shape as well.

To put it exactly, I work with pipe, and I'm trying to create a smart shape that can be any length, but then be made bigger or smaller while keeping it's aspect ratio. The two ends of the shape are defined by their own group of shapes and those groups need to keep their aspect, but the length of the rectangle represents the pipe itself and can be elongated. I don't know if this is all possible is a single shape, but I have been trying to find out for a couple of days now. I hope someone here can help.

Jumpy

You could post a picture or vsd here, so it's more easy to understand, what you need.

What I think so far:
If you group the rechtangle and the childgroups, that make up your arrow-ends, than go into the ShapeSheet of a child group, you'll see formulas in Width, Height, PinX, PinY that depend on the group.
If for example the groupname is Sheet.123 in the Width of a subshape could stand sth. like =Sheet.123!Width*0.3276.

Because of that dependency resizing the group leads to resizsing of the childsshapes.
To prevent that, change the formulas in the child to fixed values, e.g. Width = 2 mm,
and even better, use the Guard funtion, to prevent accidental changing of the formula:
Width = GUARD(2 mm).

Chance0066