Sync independent shapes with timeline so they show the date?

Started by abssorb, May 04, 2011, 12:54:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

abssorb

I have a drawing which shows time across the top, an 18 month period.

I would like to have a shape (which can move independently anywhere in the X and Y axis), which contains text showing the day of the month.  At the moment this is done manually, a big enhancement would be for the text to update with the correct day-of-month when its X position changes.

A nice to have would be a dialogue box to enter a date and the shape move to the correct position (but this is secondary).

Looking at the Visio timeline addon fucntionality it should be possible to automate?  I've had a look at the timeline / schedule functionality but I can't work out a solution.  I'm a novice at shapesheet editing and as far as I can tell it calls on external addons.

I don't need any of the other timeline functionality or shapes.
Visio 2003 by the way.

Any help really appreciated. Thanks. :)

Jumpy

For the first you need a formula, that translates the x coordinate of the Shape, which you find in the PinX cell of the shapesheet, to a Date. To help you with this, we would have to know more about the Top of the page, where you show a timeline?
Because that timeline has to be the reference against which the formula is calculatetd.

wapperdude

Not sure this is the direction you were heading, but, here's a quick approach to what you're after without using timeline shapes...

The "timeline" shape allows double clicking to enter begin and end dates.

The rectangles reference the timeline shape and it's position.  Move them, the date will change.  Move the timeline and date will change.  The rectangles are constrained to remain within the horizontal boundries of the timeline.

HTH
Wapperdude
Visio 2019 Pro

wapperdude