Visio 2007 Timeline help please?!? Locking things together?

Started by jeraldjunkmail, March 21, 2011, 08:30:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeraldjunkmail

Hi there, Hope all that read this are having a great day!  I am new to Visio, and need a bit of help...  I am working on a Visio 2007 diagram that intends to model a government policy document.  I am trying to put together a timeline diagram.  It has overlapping timelines and so far I can get Visio to:

Have coexisting timelines (but expanded timelines, I have given up on them)
Get synchronized milestones to synchronize between the the two "separate" timelines.  So when I move a milestone on one, it moves on the other with coinciding dates.
Move the connection points of the connector lines so that they are not going into the center of the timelines...

I have so far TRIED the following:
Having multiple expanded timelines (these of course, will NOT overlap!)...  I have tried everything to make this work, and it simply will not.  It likes to have a second expanded timeline attach itself to the other expanded timeline.  While this would be useful in some applications, it is not very useful in my application.  I really have tried almost everything, and it has helped me learn a lot about Visio, but to no avail...

Played with intervals...  I think this is a good option, but it has to be workable.  Since my intervals will overlap, I have not been able to make this visibly apparent.  I would like to make the intervals have different colors or transparencies on the parts that overlap.

I would like to do the following:
I am looking for a way to link the milestones with the end points of each of the intervals, or failing that, link the separate timelines with milestones that actually rely on the date inputted into the milestones.  Would look like this:
0-1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-0  and when I move the milestone, timeline would look like this:
0-1-2-3-4-5-6-7-0 so would become a self appending timeline.