Help with Network connectivity Design

Started by kubby, January 04, 2011, 07:28:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kubby

Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to visio and need your help in creating one of the diagrams where I have to show some network connectivity.

Please check the attachment. I have tried to show the connection in very simple way.

I know this is not the right (or rather impressive way) of creating a visio.

Can you please suggest a way to make it more "Impressive"?

Thanks in advance
kubby

aledlund

The first question is, "What are you attempting to illustrate?" Are you showing a logical view (where path summarization using a single connector might be acceptable), a physical view (where vendor shapes might be more appropriate), or a dataflow diagram. We sometimes use the term "spaghetti cables" in a derogatory manner, so if I wanted to show how bad it really is I would include a photograph of the cables in the diagram. Your drawing has mixed both functional shapes and generic box shapes so the picture isn't consistent in how you are applying technology.
al

kubby

Hey Al,

Thanks for helping on this.

Vendor shapes are not at all important. I showed them as these are the systems which will be installed and implemented.

Not sure what you mean by Single connector but yes Logical view is something I am after.

Main thing that I wanna show here is the Network connectivity. The netapp box shows in the PIC is currently sitting on network A. We will add an additional NIC to it and connect it to the Network B as well.

Also one of the main things is to show the "Sphegetti" cabling between the Netapp Box and the Network B core switch. With ""Sphegetti" cabling, I mean unorganized cable.
We are doing this as Network B is only available on specific Cabinet Rows in the Data Center and the only way to connect Netapp Box to Network B is running unorganized cables to get Network B connectivity.