Started by gyra, August 19, 2010, 05:20:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gyra

Things given to me

- X and Y coordinates
- Component degree
- Component groups
- Component size

I'm not good with the technical jargon but what I want to do is to group components together so it is more organized. 

What I start off with:

What I want the end result to be:

Please help, I am going bald   :D

Paul Herber

I think layers might be your best bet.
Create one layer per group, and set a layer colour.
Now select the shapes you want in that group (hold Shift and select the shapes), then add those shapes to the layer.

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

gyra

Quote from: Paul Herber on August 19, 2010, 06:14:39 PM
I think layers might be your best bet.
Create one layer per group, and set a layer colour.
Now select the shapes you want in that group (hold Shift and select the shapes), then add those shapes to the layer.

Thanks for the response.

I have thought about using layers but I want to link the excel sheet with the information onto Visio so it arrranges/creates the color block automatically.  I have tried it with Visio 2002 with Database Wizard and it works but company have upgraded the software to 2010.

:(

Jumpy

Search this forum or better Chris articles about sth. like:
"Change Color depending on ShapeData".

ShapeData can be changed with linking shapes to external Data from Databases. That should be even more easy using Visio2010 than 2002.
But you need a Professional Version of Visio. Database Wizard is not part of the standard edition.

gyra

Quote from: Jumpy on August 19, 2010, 08:07:08 PM
Search this forum or better Chris articles about sth. like:
"Change Color depending on ShapeData".

ShapeData can be changed with linking shapes to external Data from Databases. That should be even more easy using Visio2010 than 2002.