How to flip a drawing

Started by Saha, May 13, 2010, 08:42:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Saha

Hello all,

I am rather new to visio and I have been trying to flip (create a mirror image of the shapes and connectors but the text) a drawing of flowcharts in Visio 2003 and Visio 2010 beta but all the connectors get tangled.
Someone in another forum suggested grouping the shapes before flipping but this doesnt work because visio refuses to flip the grouped shapes.
I don't need to manipulate the drawing any further after it has been flipped so if there is a solution to undo the 'smart' behalviour of the connectors it would be welcome also!

Thanks in advance,

Martin

Paul Herber

Selecting all the shapes (Control-A) then menu Shape -> Rotate or Flip -> Flip Horizontal
should work but maybe the connectors will get tangled in very complicated diagrams. I've just tried this with a simple diagram of 10 shapes and all seems well.

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

Saha

Quote from: Paul Herber on May 13, 2010, 10:02:39 AM
Selecting all the shapes (Control-A) then menu Shape -> Rotate or Flip -> Flip Horizontal
should work but maybe the connectors will get tangled in very complicated diagrams. I've just tried this with a simple diagram of 10 shapes and all seems well.

That's what I tried before.
I am not sure if the flowcharts can be considered 'very complicated' but the connectors do get tangled very much!
Since the drawings are needed for a scientific study it is necessary for them to be the exact mirror immage!

Here is the download link to one of the visio files:

http://rapidshare.com/files/386787305/Modell1_Produkt-Kundenservic_AD.vsd.html

Paul Herber

I see the problem, I'll have a play with it ...

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils for Visio -

Paul Herber

One problem I have found is that many of the connectors are not glued correctly.