Shape Data cell events

Started by baldman, April 14, 2010, 08:51:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baldman

What I would like to do (if possible) is to handle events for specific cells in the Shape Data screen as they happen. I have three fixed-list type combo boxes that rely on each other. I populate the combos for one shape, then when the user is looking at the Shape Data dialog and changes it, I need to capture that event right then to populate the others based on the first's selection. Every event I can find fires when the Shape Data dialog closes, and that's too late.

aledlund

What you're talking around is filtering events. The visio sdk has a demo on how to approach this type of issue (event filter demo).
al

baldman

Thanks for the lead. I am looking at the example and frankly it confuses me. It seems they are adding the events to the page, where I need them added to the Shape Data dialog cells themselves.

This is my first experience with Visio, but I've been a developer for a while now. I have a shape, from that shape I use get_Cells("myCombo")... can I not add an event handler here to call a method when the value changes?
What I am looking to do is a basic SelectedIndexChanged event on a combo or a TextChanged event - is there no simple way to handle this?

aledlund

Visio is huge event driven application! Every cell that is changed creates an event  (and may cascade many other events). As an example of how things are running under the covers you might check out the event monitor (in developer mode on 2010, under tools sdk add-ins in 2007) to just watch what happens when some of the relatively basic functions happen. The choices then come down to capture all cell changed events (you then have to examine the event to see if it is the shape and cell you want to work with) or add a filter so that you only get the ones you want.
al

baldman