Help! How to edit shape data in larger text area?

Started by PetteriM, March 11, 2010, 09:26:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PetteriM

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie with very specific need. I want my shapes to store some textual documentation, e.g. goal of process step or user story, flow of use case etc. Then i could export all kind of documentation to excel, word etc. That part is doable, but entering text into one short text field is not...

Built in UML-shapes has long text enty area for "Documentation". I have no idea how can i make the shape data fields larger. I think it can't be done through define shape data, right?

I guess, I need
a) define the shape data
b) create some form and code for accessing /showing / editing data in form
c) add call to macro or add-in into shapesheet right-click menu or double click.

Do any of you guys have some relevant example? Hands-on instructions explaining how to do something like that? Please, explain it to me like i'm six years old!

Thanks i advance,
Petteri

Visio Guy

For articles, tips and free content, see the Visio Guy Website at http://www.visguy.com
Get my Visio Book! Using Microsoft Visio 2010

Visio Guy

Ok, I just talked to David Parker about the fact that there is no "download" or "buy" link.

He is currently reworking the tool for Visio 2007/2010. It works with Visio 2002/2003, but it has some old licensing issues.

A fairly crude text-editing window could be made using VBA and a custom form without too much effort.
For articles, tips and free content, see the Visio Guy Website at http://www.visguy.com
Get my Visio Book! Using Microsoft Visio 2010

PetteriM

Thanks for the info abou cData. It doesn't seem to be availble for 2007 version, though.

Guess I'm stuck...
I thought about adding a larger text area into shape for showing / editing the information. Then I'd need to come up with solution for hiding / showing part of the shape in my library. Do you think that might work?

-Petteri-

Paul Herber