Master template with external data linking problem

Started by Donboo, January 27, 2010, 09:42:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Donboo

I have a problem with my master template that I need some help with. I am not that experienced with Visio or VBA so I thougt it this might be done with some reading and hardwork and it would be an easy task but I am having trouble with the master linking.

Case is I have 50 customers that all share the same physical infrastructure but each has a unique logical.

My idea was to make a master template that I would link to each customers drawings and then link each unique data to the customer drawing. However I really wanted the external data link to be controlled from a central point too (not a need but a nice to have feature) so I tried to create a relative link to the external data source on the master template hoping that the data source  would be updated with the unique data from the customer when the link was created. I tried to do this in 2 different ways but ran into trouble no matter which I use.

1. If I created a master and inserted in the customer drawing as an object I would have the link-to-master but then I would be unable to link the unique customer data to the shapes as they are grouped when inserting and the object will loose the link to the master if ungrouped and the external data source wouldnt be available when linked this way.

2. If I created a master and just drag´n´drop it on the customer drawing I would get the external data source copied to the customer drawing and have the individual shapes but the link-to-master wouldn´t.

Is there a way to insert a master template with link and still be able to use external data sources on the shapes generated from the master template (linked either from the master or to the customer drawing) so I can update all 50 drawings from a central point and still have the shape data unique?