Shape color based on Shape data value

Started by Nlevesque, February 28, 2024, 06:59:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nlevesque

Hi Guys. I have been using Visio for a couple years but I don't know anything about coding. About everything I can do with shapesheets I learned here.

I've been trying for a couple of days to have a shape that's part of a group to change it's color based on the value of a shape data in the group. The shape data in questions is a variable list with five possible values to it. Those values are: LAN, POE LAN, WAN, 1G adn 10G. Here's what the groupe Shapesheet formula looks like:

Now on the shape I want to change colors, I created both a table of the 3 colors I want and a set of conditionals that would be supposed to set the forground color of the shape based on that statut of the groups shape data. Here's what the shapesheet looks like.

It seems to me like the validation of the value of the variable list doesn't work. If so, how can I fix it.

Thanks in advance, desperate for answers.

The problem is that, of course it doesn't work" tried to pinpoint what part of the setup doesn't work. I even created in the group shapesheet a simple conditionnal that supposed to change it's value to 1 if the variable list shape data is a specific value and change it to 2 if it's not and it still dosen't work.

Surrogate

Quote from: Nlevesque on February 28, 2024, 06:59:06 PMI have been using Visio for a couple years but I don't know anything about coding. About everything I can do with shapesheets I learned here.
Please look at same thread.

UPDATED: 3 hours ago...
Please read acticle Indexed colors across languages in Visio by John Goldsmith.

Thomas Winkel

And here an example as I do it in my shapes.
Simple and maintainable using lists with INDEX / LOOKUP.
The SUBSTITUTE / LISTSEP is necessary because Visio`s list separator depends on the language (e.g. ',' ';'), also see Surrogates link.

Yacine

@Thomas,