Author Topic: Controlling Resizing in Multiple Grouped Shapes?  (Read 9619 times)

Yaz

Controlling Resizing in Multiple Grouped Shapes?
« on: June 22, 2009, 12:32:56 PM »
Hi All,

This is my first time trying to make a custom shape in Visio and for my learning experience I'm trying to make a Process shape such as for a data flow diagram, similar to the middle portion of

So right now I have the drawing done, I've created the shape data and linked it to fields.  My problem is that I can't get it to resize how I want.  Right now my shape is a combination of three rectangles (top left, top right, bottom) which may not be the best way (?).  If I resize horizontally it works how I'd like (everything gets resized to scale).  If I resize vertically though everything gets resized as well but I'd like the two top rectangles to maintain the same height (unless somebody has a better solution).  As right now it certainly doesn't look great when it all stretches.

Thanks!

Visio Guy

• Administrator
  • Smart Graphics for Visual People...n' Stuff
    • Visio Guy
Re: Controlling Resizing in Multiple Grouped Shapes?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2009, 01:01:35 PM »
Hi Yaz,

You need to manipulate the Pins, LocPins and Height of your sub-shapes.

This article will help:
A SmartShape is Worth 1000 Symbols

For instance, your Counter shape, you might do this (Sheet.1 is the group's ID, yours will be different)

Width = GUARD(Sheet.1!Width - Height)
Height = GUARD(0.125 in) ...or something relatively fixed

PinX = GUARD(Sheet.1!Width)
PinY = GUARD(Sheet.1!Height)

LocPinX = GUARD(Width*1.0)
LocPinY = GUARD(Height*1.0)

The GUARDs are most important for formulas that aren't in the form "Group.ID!WidthHeightPin * Fraction". Non-standard formulas in the Shape Transform section of sub-shapes will get blasted on copy if you don't GUARD them.
For articles, tips and free content, see the Visio Guy Website at http://www.visguy.com
Get my Visio Book! Using Microsoft Visio 2010

Yaz