Change shapes of Organisation chart with VBA

Started by Cheg, November 08, 2023, 03:17:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cheg

Hi,

I'm quite new to Visio and I'm trying to automatize some processes in VBA. I've used VBA before with excel but I find it more difficult to find solutions when I use it for Visio.

I am currently trying to build an organisation chart. My data is organised in an Excel sheet, it imports just fine to visio using the wizard. The default shapes are the ones with the belts and a picture which are not what I need. I want to change them to shapetacular without having to do it it manually. I can remove the picture in VBA by changing the value of the user-defined cell HasPicture to zero.

I cannot figure out how to change the shapes to shapetacular and I'm running out of ideas. I've tried

Visio.Documents.Item("Shapetacular.vsdx").Masters.Item("Executive Shapetacular")

but I get the error Invalid document identifier.
I've tried changing the shape master name to shapetacular but it just changes the name, not the shapes...

shp.Master.Name = "Executive Shapetacular"

Any ideas on how to do this task?

Thanks in advance

Nikolay

Just a crazy idea - you can try to delete all other stencils (or hide them from Visio), leaving only the one you want to be used for the OrgChart diagram ("Shapetacular - Organization Chart Shapes.vssx"), and then run the wizard.
If that doesn't work either, you can rename this "Shapetacular - Organization Chart Shapes.vssx" to whatever the wizard is using by default, thus "fooling" the wizard.

In general, the OrgChart wizard was never meant to be used with VBA. It was built to be used by end-users, manually.
So I doubt you'll find any straightforward way to accomplish that.

Cheg

Very interesting, thank you. I didn't know that about the wizard.

How do I rename the "whatevershape.vssx"? I mean, where do I find the place where I rename it?