Adding text in body area of Visio Container with Header

Started by Gavo, May 03, 2023, 11:41:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gavo

In Visio I wish to create a single container shape (or similar) that has a header (like a normal Container with a Header) plus a text area in the box beneath the box.

In the example attached (showing 3 of these shapes connected) I have simply grouped two text boxes together but then I need to manually ungroup then regroup each time I change the bottom box height.

But what I want is for the overall shape height and width to be able to be changed (by dragging handles) without changing the height of the header (like a container with a header).

I am not a coder and do not understand ShapeSheet formulas except for editing Text Block Format padding values and font sizes.

Surrogate

What do you mean as 'container shape'? Build-in containers or customer self-made containers...

https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/microsoft-365-blog/custom-containers-lists-and-callouts-in-visio-2010/ba-p/237586

wapperdude

Part of the confusion is your use of "container".  That is a specific object and not consistent with what you show or describe.  AFAIK, you cannot enter text directly into a container.

Not sure this helps, but take a look at my response (reply #7) in this thread:  http://visguy.com/vgforum/index.php?topic=7716.msg32901#msg32901
Visio 2019 Pro

Gavo

Thanks @wapperdude and @Surrogate

To clarify my question: the "Container" reference was in relation to the "fixed" height nature of the header whenever the overall object* is resized and not for the functionality of grouping other shapes together.

I have created this visual (using grouped shapes and manual grouping/ungrouping/regrouping before resizing!!!) to better illustrate what I am trying to do. Please see for reference numbers:

1.1.1 = Default object appearance (single line of text) and overall object handles.