Visio Guy

Visio Discussions => General Visio => Topic started by: Yacine on July 31, 2022, 06:25:17 AM

Title: Use a filtered dataset
Post by: Yacine on July 31, 2022, 06:25:17 AM
David asked on Stackoverflow (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/72943562/filter-excel-data-when-importing-into-visio-orgchart (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/72943562/filter-excel-data-when-importing-into-visio-orgchart)) how he could use filtered data instead of the whole dataset that his Excel file provides.


I replied, that he should use a dynamically created table based on filter criteria, using power query.


I'm sort of misusing our forum as a file exchange platform. Sorry ;) . But the issue may be interesting for other people too.
Title: Re: Use a filtered dataset
Post by: daviddoria on November 09, 2022, 12:46:07 PM
Hi Yacine,

Sorry it took me so long to get back to this... haha.

So when trying to import your PowerQuery.xlsx into Visio, I get "Unable to read names from your file" - any ideas? (I have a screenshot, but I can't figure out how to attach it on this forum).

Separately, I created a Power Query table from my real data, and when I imported that file into Visio it used the derived table, but did not ask me which table I wanted to use. This breaks the idea of the use case of having a few derived tables in the same file and being able to import any of them.

Thanks for your help so far!

David
Title: Re: Use a filtered dataset
Post by: Yacine on November 11, 2022, 12:10:29 AM
I googled the message and did not find much. (https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/msoffice/forum/all/visio-2010-error-message-unable-to-read-names-from/95bbc110-98a4-4261-b630-67014764fc04)
Best would be to rebuild the connection.

As for which table to use, that is standard Visio behavior, please google it.

Cheers,
Y.