Referencing Container Nested Relationships

Started by manifold1978, October 22, 2023, 01:51:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

manifold1978

I have a master container shape, which when brought onto the page from the stencil, typically contains further instances of the same container, upto a maximum of 4 levels as shown in the attatched.

I then have another shape, which I want to inherit the properties (i.e. the name) of all the containers to which it belongs, and display them in it's own shape data, as highlighted in the attached (with only the last two working).

The problem I think I'm having is that there seems to be no reliable way to reference the nested container relationship in Visio.

CONTAINERSHEETREF() needs either the Z index, or the Z index and a category. This doesn't help here as the Z index isn't the same thing as the nested relationship. If category would work alone without Z index, I feel like it work work, but it NEEDS the Z index.

I've tried to dynamically set (and guard) the DisplayLevel of the master container shape based on it's type, so something like the following in Shape Layout > DisplayLevel field of the Container's shape sheet:

=IF(STRSAME(Prop.Area_Type,"Site / Campus"),GUARD(-25000),IF(STRSAME(Prop.Area_Type,"Building"),GUARD(-26000),IF(STRSAME(Prop.Area_Type,"Floor"),GUARD(-27000),IF(STRSAME(Prop.Area_Type,"Room"),GUARD(-28000),IF(STRSAME(Prop.Area_Type,"Location in Room"),GUARD(-29000),"")))))

I also tried just simply changing the DisplayLevel to =GUARD(-#) in different instances of the container shape.

Doing either of these things, the "send to front" and "send to back" buttons always allow me to click a few levels up or down before it decides it's locked and doesn't let me go any further.