So frustrated with Connection tool!

Started by lgbeno, March 26, 2013, 07:25:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lgbeno

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Visio but have been using other drawing tools for many years.  I draw a lot of electrical schematics and block diagrams for work.  One of the most annoying things in Visio is how the tool insists on automatically routing my connection line, this is very inconvenient because it often picks the shortest possible route and this is usually not the route that I want the line to take.

Other CAD programs that I've used allow me to route the line vertex by vertex and then when shapes are moved, they simply adjust to the nearest vertex.

So far in my searching I've figured out how to go in and add vertices after a connection is drawn or attach a number of connections onto one another but is there a way to do it from the beginning.  What I'm thinking is click the start connection point then click or hit a key every time that I want to pin down a vertex until I get to my end point.

Sooo frustrated...  Thanks for the help.

-Luke

Paul Herber

Electronic and Electrical engineering, business and software stencils for Visio -

https://www.paulherber.co.uk/

lgbeno

Visio Standard 2013

By the way, just bought the Electronics for Visio package from Sandrila.  A prime example would be lets say that I put down a Cap and a mosfet and go to connect them.  It ends up looking like the attached image, I really need it to behave the opposite way...

Paul Herber

Hi Luke, I can't try with Visio 2013, but I can create the same with older versions of Visio. Open the standard Connectors stencil as try those shapes. The connector tool on the toolbar/ribbon can change its operation in ways I've never understood.
Maybe I should change the instructions for use with these shapes. It's been like that for over 8 years, inertia, once the words are written it can get very difficult to change them.
P.S. Thanks for your order.